In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Opinions are divergent regarding whether the settlement in small family units is beneficial or detrimental for specific individuals. Despite certain drawbacks, the positives of elementary families are relatively more significant.

On the one hand, proponents of the extended family maintain several reasons. One fundamental reason is the close support structure. While this position is popular, it is not supported by practical viewpoints since large units are susceptible to erroneous education. Specifically, the small bond of consanguinity makes it easier for parents to understand youngsters’ temperament and potentially prevent mental illness, thereby consolidating efficient pedagogical methods. Large family groups, on the contrary, frequently result in a resurgence of ignorance, unconscious bias, and misconception due to the enormous generation gap, triggering persistent disparity and insensibility in families.

On the other hand, it is my conviction that the preponderance of the solitude space and complete privacy should be preserved. For instance, house relocations in large families usually incur unnecessary rivalries including diverse aesthetics, lifestyle, and options resulting in long-lasting repercussions in family solidarity. Also, the remarkable maturity that arises from fostering a nuclear family is discernable, this is mainly owing to the fact that parents in single units can possibly spend great time and effort comprehending each characteristic of their child, especially during puberty, therefore, authentically avoiding the erosion of family happiness. Additionally, should individuals have a profound insight into tightening awareness about economic independence and taking responsibility for self-experimentation with crafts, they will not have an inclination to live a sedentary lifestyle.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the benefits of settling down in small units, including financial independence and astonishing maturity, and the power of kinship could make an overall positive component in society as opposed to the largely neglected parenting from the huge family groups.