Nowadays, more people move away from their friends and families for work. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The globalization has brought about mass changes in the way people live and work. Nowadays, there is a growing trend that people live away from their friends and relatives in order to pursue their career. The following essay shall shed light on both sides of the shift.

There are undeniable perks that moving away from friends and family offers. First and foremost, the person can completely focus on their work. Living alone spares them the room for chasing their career without being interrupted by menial things that may come from family or friends. They can advance their career and climb the career ladder with the best of themselves. To epitomize, there are writers who would live in isolation and will not return home until they come up with brilliant ideas. Secondly, people can choose to live far from their relatives to grasp opportunities. A prime example for this is the businessmen. To win the intense competition, they must seek for deals faraway, which require them to leave their home.

However, there are gearing downsides to be taken into consideration before a person decides to leave their family and friends behind in the pursuit of work. Initially, the moveaway will cause disrupt in relationships. Evidently, living far away from friends and family, to a certain extent, will weaken the bond. The close relationships that were previously formed start to be blurred by time and distance. There are cases where people are forgotten by their own kins after a too long time living away from them. Another point worth noting is that living without the accompany of friends and family raises the risk of mental health problems. Studies have pointed out that there is a staggering rise in the number of people facing mental problems, most of which are people who are isolated from family and friends. It is clear that this pitfall is not to be omitted.

In conclusion, while working far away from friends and family does grant distinguishing benefits, it comes at the cost of relationships and loneliness. From my standpoint, the disadvantages should not be belittled, but overall the benefits it brings to outweigh the short-comings.