In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods. This is having a negative effect on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many parts of the world, local cuisines are being taken place by international junk foods. Many hold a belief that this phenomenon is adverse to both families and society. In my opinion, this point of view is grounded for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is noteworthy that the absence of traditional foods is one of contributive factors to the erosion of family solidarity. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, having meals with preparing foods for beloved family members are bonding times that can help to build rapports in family. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to neglect the fact that the increasing popularity of fast foods which are regarded for convenience has been accompanied by the loosen unity in family. For example, it is common that in contemporary society, double income families where both parents are bread-winners are more increasingly popular so the lack of home-makers and the lack of traditional foods have silently resulted in the fact that parents and children do not have bonding times, opportunities to share thoughts. This example is the illstrulation of the fact that the growing pervasiveness of fast foods have chronic effects on family unity.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that fast foods do no harm to society, but good to society. Because, in contemporary society, the fast pace of life has made people time-conscious, the consumption of fast foods which are prepared and readily available is time-efficient, satisfying the need of time-mind people, suitable to the ever-changing nature in human society. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that the increasing prevalence of fast foods has been accompanied by the extinction of traditional foods, causing damage to the integrity of local cultures. This is due to the fact that traditional foods are integral parts of religious events, social occasions, ceremonies as cultural heritages. For this reason, the rare presence of traditional foods could be regarded as a worrying threat to national identities, cultural values.

In conclusion, negative effects of fast foods on both families and society could be seen from the view of family unity and cultural preservation as mentioned above.