In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

The younger generations are on a limited time span these days.They do not have the time or even consider to look into the news displaying the activities around us.Personally, in my opinion I feel that the younger people should follow the news or at least try to show some interest to watch the news.

Gone are the days when our parents or even the generation before them had the practice of reading the newspaper in the morning.This gave them a sense of discipline and had the inquisitiveness to know the activities happening around the world.It also gave them a good grasp on their vocabulary.But, the present day generation does not depend on this system. Due to the advance in technology, the news is available in the mobile phones.

The advent of technology and innovation has caused ease in our life by developing apps and devices such as kindle to read the news.Not only,are they eco-friendly but also prove to be helpful where there are no access to newspaper.Although, I agree that these advances are helpful,but they are stripping away the essence of traditionalism of reading the news.Social apps such as twitter and Facebook play a major role in shaping the way we read news,these apps are more populated with social gossip and not the real news to be displayed.

As a solution to the problem being addressed, there should be policy involving schools to mandate the reading of newspaper until middle school.Another option could be to organise competitions involving newspaper to arise the awareness of them. Parents also should be more assertive in making their children read newspaper so it becomes a habit.

To conclude, the advances in the technology are moving us away from newspaper reading.If we realise the situation and be a little more conscious about it, we can make a change.