In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is gradually becoming a trend among youngsters in nations across the world to be uninterested in reading newspapers or staying tuned to the news on the TV. This essay discusses the causes of this development and measures that can be taken to curb it.

The youth generally consider / regard perusal of newspapers to be boring, because they feel it is for the elderly. This has brought about the general consensus that youngsters do not have keen interest in the news because, they want to remain ‘’Hip”. They also find articles in the newspaper to be less of their concern as they feel they should rather use their time to keep up with their friends and have fun without bothering about the happenings in the world at large. For instance, youngsters would rather read about their Reality TV crush coming to an event nearby than the floods ravaging another state. Another cause of this lack of interest is that most stories on newspapers and television are related to business and politics and juveniles do not have much interest in them.

To curtail this trend in the society, it is up to the caregivers of these young adults to instill in them the culture of listening to or reading the news. To Illustrate, parents can make reading news a morning routine in their household. They can also offer a reward to their children who have read the most articles in a week and prepared a summary of them. This will get their offspring more enthusiastic about perusing news prints as there is a compensation attached.

In conclusion, the rise in the number of young adults showing lack of interest in reading news articles or watching the news on the TV can be attributed to the misconception that news is for the older generation. To solve the challenge parents need to instill / inculcate the culture of watching or reading news in their offspring.