In many country around the world life expectancy is increasing.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages then give your opinion.

It is a fact that people are expected to live longer on a worldwide scale, which raises alert for potential issues, but brings in benefits at the same time. Whilst I agree with the latter outcome, I opine that the negative side outweighs the opposite one.

On the one hand, there are opinions suggesting that living longer will lead to adverse ramifications. As the life span is stretched, more people live into old age. Covid-19 is a prime example of the exacerbating physical state at this stage of life. The 2-year ongoing contagious pandemic has especially jeopardized the vulnerable aged people, whose immune systems can barely stand the organism. As a matter of fact, it elucidates how fragile and easy-to-be-hurt people are when they get older. Population ageing also results in the nature being overexploited to obtain essential necessaries such as foodstuff, medicine and to create more living space given that it is the key facture leading to overpopulation.

Looking on a brighter side, some point out the major merits of lengthened lifetime. Old people could pass down to the posterity wisdom from ages of living that can shorten the path to success of the younger generation. The life after retirement will no longer be boring if they spend time educating their children what the outside world is like. What is more, some working fields including education, researching or science, … witnessed late-blossoming careers, as some credentials can only be accumulated after practicing for years. Being able to live more will break the lifetime barrier holding them back.

To conclude, after weighing both sides, I’m convinced that the advantages of extended lifetime is outweighed by the disadvantages since the world is altering day by day that some knowledge might soon be behind the time and the expenditure allocated for experienced experts is immense.