Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

ourism in recent years has been booming onan unprecedented scale, with many developing countries considering it as a major income source. The main reason for this is the great revenueit generates, and I believe that it is a positive development in some countries that embrace sustainability, but a negative one in some others who are inclined towards mass tourism.

The major reason for the rapid growth of tourism is the great profits it might bring. Indeed, tourism has become one of the major players in international commerce, with many statistics indicating that the revenue it brings equals or even surpassesthat of many industrial fields such as garment, food production or oil exports. In cases of developing countries where technology in industrial areas is somewhat inferior todeveloped ones, tourism is deemed instrumental inpromoting economic well-being. Any country endowed withnatural beauties and historic sites can take advantage of those precious sources to boost their economy.

Sustainable tourism, with all economic, social and environmental angles being thoroughly taken into consideration, is a welcome development. It helps generate great profits, it is a good and healthy form of entertainment for tourists, and it also provides jobs for inhabitants living in tourist destinations. Reality Tours and Travel in India is a great example of such a tourism paradigm. Travellers taking the tour are provided with not only personal solacebut also valuable, thought-provokingexperiences about the locals’ lives, and the profits of the tours eventually go to the development of theimpoverishedareas in Mumbai and Delhi. However, in some other developing countries where mass tourismprevails, this has become a disaster. Influxesof touristsflocking to one area in peak seasons, littering all over the place, intervening in the locals’ traditional values and damaging the environment have plagued the overall well-being of those countries. The Great Pyramid of Giza in India, for example, has been reported to suffer from irreversible damageas a result of the enormous number of visitors coming there to see the site every year.

In conclusion, tourism has enjoyed increasing popularity in developing countries because it is a profitable economic sector. It can be a force for good if developed judiciously and sustainably, yet a catastropheif it is out of control and tampers withthe life and nature of the local areas.