Many People Think That Happiness Relies On The Responsibility Of Individuals Others Think It Is Affected By Other Factors. Discuss both views and state your opinion by using examples from your personal experience.

For some people happiness is nothing but a state of mind and a person is individually responsible for it; however, for many others happiness depends upon external factors. In my opinion, external factors play a huge role in making a person happy. Both the viewpoints are elaborated in the essay.

Happiness is considered to be the sole responsibility of an individual by many. This is because, people have the perception that happiness depends on a person’s state of mind and heart and every person must have the ability to take control of one’s emotions. Moreover, many self help books, yoga and meditation institutes preach how to take control of your state of mind to maintain good mental health and peace. Happiness for them is all about inner satisfaction and through practices like meditation and yoga it can be achieved.

Conversely, many individuals consider external factors extremely crucial for their bliss. That is to say, every person has some expectations or dreams that they want to fulfill, be it a good job, living with family, a house or a big car. People often feel satisfied after achieving something big or fulfilling one or the other dream and this further brings a feeling of bliss in them. Furthermore, researches and surveys have proved that even weather also has a huge impact on people’s state of mind. For example, according to the research conducted by the Times of India, Pune was on top of the list of the happiest cities of India due to its pleasant weather.

In conclusion, although many people think that happiness can be solely achieved without considering other factors, it cannot be denied that a person cannot be happy if externally everything is going against his expectations.