Many developing countries place a lot of importance on tourism. Why is this? Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, modern lifestyles that emphasize more on relaxing and rising income have brought developing countries numerous opportunities to make advancements in tourism industries as a lucrative source of money. Even though There are plenty of reasons and supporters for this trend and its significant effect on developing nations, I strongly believe that this is a negative development.

Personally, I assume that there are at least two main important reasons why traveling tendency is being kept an eye on by many states. The first reason is marvelous economic benefits and abundant income revenue. A well-developed tourism industry can create a lot of newly arrived businesses and careers which are grand opportunities for the local community. Since more jobs are created, it not only reduces the unemployment rate, a serious problem in many countries, but there are also more and more contributions to the government’s budget, which can substantially improve the living standards of people and strengthen the country’s economy. The second reason is that boosting international tourism can not only encourage universal relations but also to share a country’s exotic customs and culture with people all around the world. This also facilitates the experience for many individuals who are interested in mastering multi-cultures and foreign ways of living. Furthermore, intercultural understanding guarantees peace and mutual respect between countries and cultures all over the world.

However, this tendency also causes negative consequences in terms of the environment and social problem. So far, tourism has created mountains of plastic every year as the majority of street restaurants constantly use this material to pack take-away food and drink. What's more, many developing nations lack proper methods to deal with the waste or to raise tourists’ awareness, therefore, it commonly ends up littering throughout rivers, beaches and roads which would badly affect ecosystems. Furthermore, there is an extensive problem that visitors may also damage various historical monuments as well as landmarks because of their poor consciousness. All these irresponsible behaviors can damage the destination as well as local citizens.

To sum up, it is crystal clear that the financial advantages which tourism offers is undoubtedly the main reason why there is an existence of the trend of expanding this industry. Nevertheless, without a country’s proper management, this development will be troublesome in the long run.