Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is it the case? Is it a positive development?

Recently, developing nations has had a tendency to attach more importance to tourism. I believe that this practice is a positive development, as it could bring certain benefits to these countries, mainly regarding economy and cultural image.

When it comes to tourism, either domestic or cross-border travel could boost the national economy. The tourist industries not only create such job opportunities related to hospitality and catering, but also help preserve some traditional ones such as pottery- making for local residents . As a result, the problem of unemployment could be resolved and the gross national production could increase. In Vietnam, for example, Nha Trang is a city whose economy and development depend largely on tourism activities, and the fact that Bat Trang pottery village in Hanoi has become a tourist attraction improves the living standard of the local inhabitants. Additionally, expanding tourism is necessary to promote the nation’s cultural aspects to foreign tourists when they understand local customs and explore cultural heritages. Hence, this could boost international image of the country and enhance cultural and economical cooperation among nations.

However, these countries may encounter certain inevitable negative impacts when expanding tourist industries. The major problems are relevant to pollution, which exert detrimental effect on the scenery and the locals’living quality. There are also cases that cultural misunderstanding has led to the local’s grudge against tourists. Nevertheless, tourism is still a potential field and the impacts could be combated by promoting green tourism and tourists’ doing research into the targeted country’s culture before traveling. Therefore, expanding tourism is a positive development.