Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why? Is it a positive development?

In many parts of the world, countries have a strategic approach to develop their tourism industries because of the ever-changing world. To the best of my knowledge, this point of view is grounded for the following reasons. This essay will present an overview of causes and the effects of this phenomenon.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that the growth of exploring cultural diversity is widely perceived as the main reason. Nowadays, many studies have shown that although it is invisible, the promotion of culture exchange is proportional to the increasing development of international travel. For example, in the past the Arabians used to consider Westerners as their foes because of different religious beliefs; however, thanks to higher interaction in various social aspects including tourism, now they have good relations in many fields. Secondly, another factor that has added fuel to the fire is the economic benefits. According to researches, the expansion of tourism fields creates new business or jobs for local people and surpluses to society.

In evaluating its impact, it is important to take potential development on society and individuals into account. From positive perspectives, the expansion of tourism industries is one of the contributive factors to widen knowledge about cultural differences. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that the increasing convenience of travelling is accompanied by the growth of engaging in other cultures. Besides, the counter-argument raised by opponents to this is that expanding tourism industries has negative impacts on environment, because many unconscious tourists intentionally do harm to nature and litter indiscriminately. For instance, according to the survey conducted by BBC News, in many countries in South East Asia, tourism has been a major cause of environmental pollution and destruction.

In conclusion, beneficial economies and culture exchange are the main reasons, which has both negative and positive effects on community as mentioned above.