In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

Industry and construction businesses are booming around the globe, especially in various growing nations. Industries dump their garbage to rivers, lakes and seas, while construction companies release harmful smoke in the air. Hence, water gets contaminated; air gets polluted rapidly. However, if government takes some initiatives such as setting rules regulations and imposing restoration costs, then it is possible to keep up good quality of air and water.

First of all, one of the major solutions can be making rules and regulations to save the environment such as water and air. The proper authorities usually prevent the plants and corporations to dump rubbish into rivers, charging extra money to contaminate the water. Moreover, many industries such as brick making plants pollute the air when these industries release tremendous smoke into the air. Therefore, if government limits the amount of smoke releasing in the air, then air pollution will diminish. Besides, some prevention rules about throwing damaged cargo in the sea also stop ships and boats to contaminate water. For instance, Garments companies in Bangladesh are not allowed to dump more than 2000 tones of garbage per year in the water. This is how setting up rules and regulations improves air and water qualities.

Secondly, charging restoration costs can prevent companies to damage water and air. Government often charges extra money to companies for improving water and air conditions, resulting corporations stop throwing rubbish in the environment. Besides, companies, which release the huge amount of smoke in the air are responsible to pay more penalty fees for reducing the harmful effects on people. In addition to this, these companies pay high tax to government so that air or water related ailments can be treated. For instance, brick making companies pay 38.5% tax on earnings every year for polluting the residential areas. Therefore, charging restoration cost can not only prevent companies to dump rubbish but also improves water and air qualities.

In conclusion, many developing nations are facing difficulties to protect good quality of air and water because of growing number of construction businesses and industries. But, governments of developing countries can keep up water and air qualities by setting up regulations and charging restoration costs.