Many employers find that their new employees lack sufficient interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work with colleagues as a team. What are the causes? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

Today, most recruiters realize that their newly-hired staff are in the absence of soft skills, such as team working. In my perspective, there are some primary causes leading to this phenomenon. This essay will outline as well as present some measures to tackle them.

First of all, the lack of interpersonal skills in new employees is attributed to the education system. Tertiary education nowadays seems to focus on training students to excel in their major theoretical subjects rather than equipping them with fundamental soft skills. As a result, many fresh graduates are not able to cooperate effectively with their colleagues in the workplace despite owning extensive expertise. Secondly, the young wrongly assess the importance of interpersonal skills while they are still in school. According to a survey, more than 90% of interviewed students answered that they think that just achieving a good university degree is enough to work in big companies. Therefore, they spend too much their free time on social network surfing Facebook or even keeping eyes glued to the screen. This cause the lack of face to face interaction and the isolation of the real world. As a consequence, ability to communicate with the partners become worse as well.

However, there are some solutions that should be implemented by universities and every individuals in order to address the problem. Universities should clarify the importance of soft skills for students and encourage them to take part in clubs developing communication skills or workshops specializing in job-related skills. All of these activities will count toward overall GPA when they graduate instead of only compulsory subjects so as to ensure that they are well-equipped with appropriate workplace skills. Additionally, each person should set a limitation on doing no-worthy things. Instead, investing time engaging in soft skills classes or joining hands in social projects is considered a wiser choice

In conclusion, a lack of basic interpersonal skills in new employees stems from the education system and our own, and there are a number of feasible suggestions solve this issue.