Many employers find that their new employees lack sufficient interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work with colleagues as a team. What are the causes? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

Today, most recruiters realize that their newly-hired staff are in the absence of soft skills, such as team working. In my perspective, there are some primary causes leading to this phenomenon. This essay will outline as well as present some measures to tackle them.

First of all, the lack of interpersonal skills in new employees is attributed to the education system. Tertiary education nowadays seems to focus on training students to excel in their major theoretical subjects rather than equipping them with fundamental soft skills. As a result, many fresh graduates are not able to cooperate effectively with their colleagues in the workplace despite owning extensive expertise. Secondly, the young wrongly assess the importance of interpersonal skills while they are still in school. According to a survey, more than 90% of interviewed students answered that they think that just achieving a good university degree is enough to work in big companies.

There are some solutions that should be implemented in order to address the problem. Universities should clarify the importance of soft skills for students through forum sessions and can organize workshops which teach that skills. In addition, undergraduates can participate in clubs to enhance their communication skills or support organizing events in their school to train their teamwork skills.

In conclusion, a lack of basic interpersonal skills in new employees stems from the education system and incorrect perceptions.