Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recent years have seen intense debate on whatever factors is the key for a nation to develop. The majority of administrations place top priority on economic growth, whilst others stay with the belief that other aspects such as culture, the environment, and healthcare are also prominent to the development of a country itself. this essay will shed light upon both views before rendering my perspective.

On the one hand, many people believe that stimulating the economic sector can benefit their countries in such ways. there is a common belief that economic development would enhance people' life conditions. To be more specific, as a wealthy country, the governments are enabled to subsidize for education and health facilities; therefore, uplifting the quality of life of citizens. Furthermore, the unemployment line will be cut short owing to foreign companies start to invest more in the country, which will open-up more and more job opportunities, and this will boost the living standard of the people.

On the other hand, it is said that other factors can, too, create enormous impacts on the development of the nation itself. Let's take the aspect of the environment as a typical example; many developed countries have neglected the importance of it, and in the long run, this will significantly result in horrifying consequences. For instance, governments have deforested to make space for factories and to build transport system. Exhaust fumes from them can pollute the air which lead to respiratory-related diseases among dwellers living nearby.

In conclusion, although I concede that there is some merit in prioritizing economic development as the country's main aim, I firmly believe that governments should treat other aspects as equally as well.