Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In in terms of a country’ advancement, there are two schools of thought on this point. the former gravitates towards economic indicators, like GDP, while the latter argues that other aspects of a society development are as much important, which is also my point of view.

On the one hand, there are 2 key reasons why economic growth is deemed as a fundamental goal for an economy. A thriving economy can not only result in strong job creation but also provide an adequate universal healthcare system for the majority of its population. More specifically, a healthy economy is obviously an attractive one in the eye of foreign investors, which means international conglomerates such as Samsung, are very likely to relocate their factories to these developing economies. As a result, a great number of jobs are generated and in turn, more and more people can enjoy improved living standards. More importantly, with higher tax revenues collected from many foreign establishments, a government is able to create a health safety net for its citizens, which directly contributes to the overall productivity as a large proportion of population is insured against sickness.

On the other hand, it is argued that there are equally considerations regarding the progress of a nation, which is congruent with my view. These are environment and equality. Needless to say, a strong economy does not necessarily associate with a clean environment. This can be seen in the case of China where the economic expansion is happening at the cost of air quality. It has been reported that the air in Beijing is heavily polluted, thus making the citizens prone to fatal diseases, like pneumonia. Furthermore, a rapid developing country can cause great tensions among different classes of a society. To generate more profits, many are not reluctant to take advantage of disadvantaged people (e.g. the poor or women). In the long term, this could result in a higher level of unfairness and ultimately destroy the social stability. More seriously, such public disquiet likely lead to protests on a national scale and capital withdrawal by foreign businesses is inevitable.

In conclusion, although it is understandable that economic growth is essential factor for any government, I strongly believe that factors, including environment and equality, should be considered as equally significant.