Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The 21st century has witnessed an unprecedented rate of global integration, especially in the economy and international trade. This has raised two schools of thought: one claims that the importance of developing economics transcends other fields, while the other argues that every aspect should be concerned with running a nation. This essay will elaborate on both points of view and provide a personal perspective.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many people hold the notion that the economy is the priority for developing a country. Before the Cold War in the last decade of the previous century, never has the world witnessed such rapid intergration between nations regardless of size and population, especially in trading. Many superpowers, such as the USA, China, and Japan, have considered taking the economy as their center and focusing on import and export activities, thereby creating a trading trend that is highly regarded by experts. Moreover, the nation's economics are also crucial criteria in asserting its position in the international arena. The more its economy develops, the more opportunities it has to improve its status and value.

On the other hand, others claim that it is necessary to care about other types of progress, including education, science, and technology, in addition to trading. A country can only develop sustainably if it knows how to balance all kinds of aspects. Japan and China are two notable examples of countries that put so much effort into providing people with good education and advanced knowledge about technology. As a result, they have become two superpowers with a high-quality workforce and numerous companies that dominate the market in their own fields. Therefore, it is understandable why other progress should be considered equally important to the improvement of the nation.

To conclude, it is my contention that while the economy is the key factor in a country's development strategy, it is unwise to neglect other aspects as they could also contribute to the sustainability of that country.