Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a tendency trying to consume less sugar among the people who prefer healthy lifestyle. It is believed that the majority items produced in the factories possess high amount of sugar and become a cause for several health issues. Should government increase the prices of sugary products to make people buy sugar in a decreased amount? I am opposite of it, because a human body naturally needs sugar and, at the same time it makes us feel good. Making sweet products expensive would be unfair to the individuals with an active lifestyle and normal people too.

A friend of my, who is involved in MMA (mixed martial arts), once recalled a story about his amateur period in sport. He explained, one could get unconscious if there is less sugar in blood. Once during the sparring session, he fell down while his eyes went black gradually. “My hands and foot were shaking”, he said. His trainer brought a sweet juice and soon after drinking it he recovered from a miserable condition. Moving or exercising every day will burn sugar in our organism. Instead making it expensive, people should be motivated to do sport.

On the other side, eating sweets help people feel good after fried food or any other meal. My mother eats candy or chocolate once she finishes her meal. She says it is good when you have eaten more oily food and makes her more active. These days many people would like to have a party for special events such birthday or to celebrate an achievement they accomplished. Obviously, people sometimes indulge themselves eating more and heavy while partying. Therefore, it is not appropriate to make expensive the items with high level of sugar.

To sum up, it is not a reasonable to make things, with high sugar level, because a human body requires sugar to function normally. Additionally, sweets make people feel happy and consequently they become more active in their life.