Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sugar is evidenced to be detrimental to individuals’ health, and medical professionals frequently advise against excessive consumption of high-sugar products. It is suggested that an increase in the price of such products could deincentitize people, leading to less sugar in their diets. While I agree with the health consequences of sugar, I am against the notion that price manipulation would reduce people’s tendency toward sugar.

First, foods and drinks with artificial sugar are among the most advertised products in media. The manufacturing companies dedicate a substantial amount of money to branding and leverage various marketing techniques, such as the use of bright colors and child-friendly content, to make their products appear delightful, enticing, and appealing. As a result, these companies may retain the ability to tempt the individuals, despire a surge in price. Additionally, the main target audience of sugary products are often children, which may be easier to attract via ads while not being as price-sensitive as adults.

Effectiveness of increasing the costs associated with these products is further undermined by individuals’ potential biological dependence on artificial sugar. To be specific, this type of sugar has been incorporated into people’s diets since the industrial revolution and some people may have developed a form of addiction toward this ingredient. Relatedly, numerous studies have provided evidence that sugar is indeed addictive. Therefore, people’s cravings may persist, leading them to consume sweets regardless of the price.

Concluding from these remarks, I do not agree that price manipulation would bring about any significant change in individuals’ habits regarding sugar. A more effective strategy may be to discourage companies from pushing sugary products via extensive marketing.