Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree Give reason for your answer and inclu

Nowadays, many health-related problems arise because of the increased consumption of sugar in food and drinks. This is known to lead to a variety of health-associated problems such as obesity and diabetes. As a result, it is often considered by some that to encourage people to eat less sugar, the price should increase. In my opinion, I completely agree as it will reduce the strain on public health and government spending.

The reasons why high prices should be on sugar are many and varied. Firstly, it will put less strain on the hospitals when sugar is high-priced. This is because it will reduce the number of hospital visits and people coming down with sugar-associated problems such as diabetes. To illustrate, most young and adults are consuming junk foods that have high sugar content as they are easily accessible. When these foods are eaten over long periods, it leads to severe health problems, which can put a strain on hospital staffs as a result of treating diabetics. Therefore, increasing the price of sugar will encourage people to consume less.

Furthermore, if sugar is over-priced, it will reduce government spending on health. At the moment, every country allocates a significant amount of its budget to the health sector. In other words, increasing the price of sugar will reduce the number of people who come down with its related problems. Hence, the government will focus on more pressing issues, such as building roads, museums or schools. For instance, the majority of the country have free health insurance that costs the government. Thus, reducing sugar intake will greatly reduce health problems, and this will reduce spending by the government.

In conclusion, I believe there will be less strain on hospitals and reduced government spending if sugar is made costly.