Some people consider art to be essential and others think it is not Which view do you agree with and why Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is thought by some that art is crucial, while others opine that it is not important. In my opinion, I completely believe that the existence of art in our society is extremely vital because of the various advantages it offers.

The benefits of art are many and varied. Firstly, it assists with the recording of history. One obvious reason for this is that without art, a lot of what is known in the prehistoric times would have remained a mystery. For example, the cave markings and the ancient artefacts which are kept in the museums educate the baby boomers, the millennials and will future generations will also gain from it. In other words, the various kinds of artwork help us to comprehend what the world was like before now. Thus, understanding art is quite entertaining as well as educative.

Another significant advantage is that art helps in the beautification of the environment. A practical illustration of this is sculptures and paintings. These forms of arts invigorate public spaces and also convey direct messages to individuals and local societies. Without these arts, our surroundings will be plain and ugly.

Finally, music, which remains a form of art, is extremely good for adequately maintaining the physical, emotional and mental wellbeing. It has been increasingly used to treat depression and mental illnesses and has provided both emotional support for patients and their families. What is more, art creators have themselves also enjoyed its merits, as it provides them with a cathartic experience from creating and performing.

In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion regarding the importance of art, I strongly agree that it offers more benefit to artists, individuals and society at large as the world will not be a better place without art.