Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sweet food and drinks that are high in sugar are popular among consumers of all ages, However, it should be noted that consuming sugary products could cause deleterious effects on our body, causing health issues like obesity and leading to illnesses such as diabetes. Despite the fact that consuming excessive high-sugar food is detrimental, there are many actions consumers, manufacturers and retailers could take apart from simply raising the prices, which should not be adopted.

Firstly, sugary foods are beneficial to humans. Their pleasant taste can arouse positive emotions and make people feel happy. After a long day of work, a cup of sweet juice could calm the distressed people down and create a relaxing state of mind. If such food or drinks are made expensive to consumers, it may exert financial pressure on them and may lead to workers losing one important way of relaxing.

Secondly, this essay believes that it is up to the consumers to decide how much sugar to take in and parties should be devoted to raising the buyers’ awareness in order to sufficiently decrease their sugar intake. The consumers should prevent themselves from eating too much food that is high in sugar and fat and live a healthy diet, eating sweet foods once in a while as a way of relaxing. Moreover, there are many different kinds of additives which could serve as sweeteners. Food producers should adopt healthier sweeteners which are more friendly to the human body. Last but not least, retailers could take some efforts in indicating the specific amount of sugar each product has and stating the recommended daily intake of sugar on the packages or labels on the store shelves. Stating clearly the numbers could effectively warn the consumers of the possible side-effects and encourage them to eat healthily.

In conclusion, this essay disagrees with the act of making sugary products expensive to consumers, and suggests that there are many actions both buyers and sellers could take to prevent excessive consumption of sugar.