Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, food and drink that contains high levels of sugar are becoming increasingly popular. There are several reasons why people argue that we should produce sugary products with higher prices to encourage people to consume less sugar, but I completely disagree with the idea.

It is true that sugary products are harmful for people health but we should not increase the price of those products to reduce sugary consumption. Firstly, it is difficult to do that because this will affect to the sales of companies that are producing food and drink. If companies manufactured sugary products decide raise their price, it is likely to reduce the number of people who can afford and they will not be good for them. Another thing that we need to consider is that people could find other products to buy instead of those products. So, governments cannot ban citizens from buying what they want to eat regardless of sugary products are in high prices or not.

On the other hand, governments would have a lot of way to encourage people to consume less sugar. One of the feasible solutions is education. Students should be taught about the negative consequences that illnesses related to high levels of sugar bring. In this way, they have the aware of the dangerous of this unhealthy lifestyle. Another way should be done after that is for politicians encourage more restaurants or companies produce healthy products by subsiding or reduce tax so that there are more options for every people rather than sugary products that are predominant today.

In conclusion, there are various ways to reduce sugary consumption and I believe that increasing the prices of those products is not the good way.