In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, advertising can be seen everywhere and companies usually claim that their goods are innovative in some effects. There are several reasons why these businesses employ the strategy. In my perspective, although this trend could have both positive and negative consequences, I would agree that there are far more benefits.

There are two primary reasons why businesses often promote that their products are new. Firstly, they want to draw customers’ attention. It is true that curiosity is an inborn characteristic of people so we tend to experience something new. For example, Apple constantly launched the new iPhone with state-of-the-art features, some of that are unique. People are always captivated with these new models and therefore their sales increased. Another reason would be that they want to be pioneer in their fields. If a company produces their goods with the latest technology, they will have advantages compared to their competitors with old machines.

In my opinion, the benefits of this trend could be more option for customers and higher profit for companies. For customers, when businesses continually improved their products to launch new features, we can have abundant choices that suitable for our budget. For company, when they have a steady foundation about technology and can apply the breakthrough in their field to their products, their reputation will spread to every people. As a result, their sales will increase and it would be good for all.

In conclusion, there are several reasons why businesses usually emphasize that their products are unique and new. There are both benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon but I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.