Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not the local people. Why is this case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is so true that museums and historical places are virtually visited by travellers but not the local residents. There are several reasons for this but this situation should be tackled by attracting locals in some practical ways.

There are two main reasons why museums and historical attractions are preferred by tourists than by local people. The first one is that they are so familiar to the local residents. If these places have not refreshed or changed anything for a long time, locals will not want to visit museums and historical sites many times to see the same thing. Another reason is the price of entrance tickets. It is likely that those tickets are sold for tourists with the economy’s benefit because it is too expensive, compared with the local’s living standard.

Steps should be taken by the government to address this situation. Firstly, the local authority should provide more budget for renewing these museums as well as rebuilding some ruins in the historical places. The fresher these places are, the more local residents will be attracted by them. Secondly, the locals must be charged lower than other tourists. Without any considering about the expense, the local people will be willing to broaden their knowledge about history in their city. For example, more and more locals in Hue city, Vietnam, visited museums and historical sites in their leisure time due to adopting the new policy of lowering ticket’s price for the local people.

In conclusion, there are reasons for this situation. However, the authorities should take some steps to attract more local people