Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people why is this case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places.

Museum and many historical sites are a popular centre of attraction among tourists while local people shows no interest in visiting these places. This essay will discuss both reason and provide some solutions on how these places can be turned into an attractive place for local people

Curiosity to explore the another culture is the main factor why museum and historical sites are so popular in tourism industry. People often love to travel and are very keen to gain knowledge from a country with rich heritage and culture and such historical places like museum are best ways for acquiring that knowledge. On the other hand, local people are already very familiar about their own culture and history so they avoid investing money in something they already know about that is why people from a local place do not visit such places.

However, there are some solutions that can raise the amount of visitors from local areas as well, and will also help in providing great benefits to tourism Industry. First and foremost is that tourism authorities should initiate some different kinds of alluring activities which can draw the attention of local people towards their traditions and culture once again. If we consider kurukshetra, a city in India, it has a wide range of temples and museums representing its culture but on a regular basis , local people are rarely interested in visiting this place but on special occasions like Geeta Jayanti a huge crowd of local people gathers there. The reason can be stated as, its grand dance performances, skits, various types of play and the environment is so Royal and enthusiastic which attracts a lot of people. So activities like these can bring a drastic change in the statistics of local people visiting historical places and museums.

So to conclude, tourists now may have a large proportion in visiting museums and other historical places but some right decisions like initiating some activities which interests public can tremendously increase the amount of local visitors.