.Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In recent years, the issue of many today’s museums witness an increase in the number of visitors instead of the locals has aroused people’s discussion. Although this problem can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be addressed.

That the local communities show no interest in museums or local heritage sites is certain to trigger undesirable problems. First, since the local heritage sites are familiar to local people, they are no longer inclined to explore more. In fact, both of the locals and students have been conveyed historical information such as wars, or wars relics through mass media like televisions and radios, the school curriculum and among others, discouraging them from discovering more about these places. Second, by recognizing the existence of these museums located in the vicinity near the place of living, there is a high possibility that citizens would procrastinate the visits. This means that they are unware of the importance of paying visits to these historical sites, taking them for granted.

The problem above, nevertheless, can be remedied, provided that sonme of the following preparatory steps are taken. If the regions’historical relics are updated into a modern trend, they would catch the locals’attention. For example, museums should be equipped with 3D projection technology, which helps trigger the locals’ curiosity and they will pay visits to these places as frequent as going to movies. Additionally, in order to create a lively environment making local people find it interesting, local authorities should organise a handful of festivals. To illustrate, folk festivals and traditional festivals can be held in museums to attract people; therfore, making them concious of their local customs and traditions.

In conclusion, due to the familiarity and the procrastination of local people, they pay less visits to region’s historical relics than travellers. By transforming tradional museums to cutting-edged ones and holding more entertainments, it would help improve the quantity of the locals visting these places.