More and more students choose to go to another country for their higher education. Do
you think the benefits outweigh the problems associated with it?
There is no doubt that going to study in a foreign country, is becoming more and more
common nowadays. But while overseas study has its drawbacks, the difficulties are far
outweighed by the advantages. Indeed, people who go abroad for study open themselves
up to experiences that those who stay at home will never have.
The most obvious advantage to overseas university study is real-life use of a different
language. While a person can study a foreign language in his or her own country, it cannot
compare with constant use of the language in academic and everyday life. There is no better
opportunity to improve second-language skills than living in the country in which it is
spoken. Moreover, having used the language during one's studies offers a distinct
advantage when one is applying for jobs back home that require the language.
On a university campus, the foreign student is not alone in having come from far away. He
or she will likely encounter many others from overseas and it is possible to make friends
from all around the world. This is not only exciting on a social level, but could lead to
important overseas contacts in later professional life.
Finally, living and studying abroad offers one a new and different perspective of the world
and, perhaps most important, of one's own country. Once beyond the initial shock of being
in a new culture, the student slowly begins to get a meaningful understanding of the host
society. On returning home, one inevitably sees one's own country in a new, often more
appreciative, light.
In conclusion, while any anxiety about going overseas for university study is certainly
understandable, it is important to remember that the benefits offered by the experience
make it well worthwhile.