Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

museums attract a large number of people from foreign countries; however, the people living in the vicinity of those museums often show little interest in visiting them. This essay will discuss why this issue arises while proposing some measures to ignite the interest of the locals in museums.

The people living near the museums do not usually pay it a visit as they are already familiar with the museum and the exhibits shown in it. The museums generally portray the historical and cultural background of the locality through the exhibitions. The locals think that they are already aware about the culture and history and thus, they do not need to visit a museum to know more about it. While tourists see museums as sites of interest, locals, having been living in the area for a long time see nothing special in it.

Nevertheless, there are several ways in which the people living in the neighbourhood can be encouraged to visit the museums. First of all, the local people should be exempt from any charges for entering the museum. This is because, the tourist come with the intention of visiting special places, so they do not hesitate to spend money on tickets whereas the local people are reluctant to pay for seeing things which they probably already know about. Hence, if the tickets are free of cost, the locals might pay a visit to the museum in their free time. Secondly, the museums must regularly hold exhibitions in which exotic pieces of art or history, or the works of international artist are shown. This will fascinate the locals, persuading them to go to the museum.

In conclusion, as the familiarity of the locals with the objects or exhibits shown in the museums is the main reason behind their reluctance towards visiting them, it can be tackled by giving them free access to the museums and showing exhibitions from different cultures.