Nowadays, a lot of people in college are doing academic study. we should encourage them do learn vocational skills( like plumbers and electricians). Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, majority of people decide to pursue tertiary education after completing their schooling; however, some believe that they should opt for occupational training instead. Although getting vocational training straight after school has its own benefits, I do not agree with the notion that we should persuade students to pursue it instead of studying in colleges.

Getting vocational training can make the students economically stable. After completing their training, they can start earning early in their life. This would enable them to afford the basic necessities in life and to support their family. In addition, since they would have more time, they will be able to gain more experience and thus, there may be higher chance of them getting promoted or getting paid more to do their job. Moreover, with a large proportion of teenagers going for academic study in colleges, the demand of skilled workers such as plumbers, technicians, electricians, mechanics, and builders has increased dramatically in recent years. This has caused their fees, which were nominal in the past, to experience a significant surge in most of the developed countries. Hence, getting vocational education can assure employment and financial stability for the students.

However, academic study has an edge over occupational training, as the former offers a lucrative job as well as respect in the society. Manual workers, no matter how much they earn, will always be regarded as second class workers, whereas the qualified professionals are revered in the society. Even the large companies prefer individuals with degrees, rather than the ones with only experience, as having higher education is a symbol of higher intellect, determination and discipline. Also, the skilled labourers have to work under the architects, designers, managers, and engineers, in other words, those who have attained degrees in colleges or universities.

In conclusion, while those with practical training of an occupation can start earning early in life, getting higher education pays of later when students get a white-collar job.