Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, it creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The international tourism industry has thrived in the past few decades. While people get a chance to encounter vast variety of cultures while visiting foreign countries, it has been suggested that it creates conflicts more often than people getting to know each other. However, in my opinion, this statement in not completely true as majority of the times, people just learn new things about the indigenous cultures while visiting other nations.

Tourists are looked down upon in some areas due to several reasons. The conspicuous reason is that tourist often have little or no respect for the place, people, or the culture and history of people of the place that they are visiting. The only thing that they are interested is in visiting the famous sites of the area. while doing so, the visitors throw garbage and sometime do such actions which are unacceptable to the people of the locality. For example, being from a modest culture, public displays of affection are despised. However, some foreigners ignore this and show intimacy on public places; something which Indians vehemently disapprove of.

Nevertheless, tourism across the borders acts as a platform for trade of knowledge, culture and money among the countries. When tourist interact with the residents of different nation, they get to learn a lot; their language and their historical and cultural background. This creates an understanding and a sense of brotherhood among them as they may find something common in their cultures. Apart from this, tourism creates uncountable job opportunities in the host country and thus, helps the locals to make some money. the money spend by tourist also gives a huge boost to the fiscal health of the country. Hence, the locals do not mind the presence tourists. In fact, in several famous tourist destinations the livelihood of the locals depend entirely on the tourists.

In conclusion, although the difference in how people from different cultures perceive the same things may result in conflicts among people from different nations, international tourism helps in reducing these difference by introducing the people to different cultures.