Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why this is the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is argued that tourist pay more visits to museums and historical places than local residents. There are ample reasons for such a phenomenon and some measures should be imposed to develop the number of visitors from local areas.

There are two main justifications why museums and historical sites are preferred by tourists the local inhabitants. First and foremost, these aforementioned places are too similar to the local residents. It is possible that local residents have reached these places and have gained insights into local history and culture. Therefore, the knowledge provided by museums and historical sites could not trigger local people’s curiosity and they choose to travel abroad to access foreign traditional and cultural values instead. Moreover, the entrance fees for museums and archaeological places could be exorbitantly expensive for the local inhabitants especially those with economically disadvantaged to afford. Thus, residents might have less or no more interests in arrival in these places.

Government should adopt some action to address the aforementioned problems. First, authorities should launch advertisement campaigns on Television and social media to introduce the uniqueness of museums and historical sites to residents especially the youth. Hence, they could have more excitement in visiting archaeological places. For example, the Facebook page of Hoa Lo Prison Relic has interesting ways to share knowledge such as through mini-games , that arouses the attention of youngsters. In addition, the states should subsidize the entrance fees for local people. If there is not financial burdens, residents would pleasure to visit the museums and historical sites.

In conclusion, there are some rationales regarding to culture and money for the low number of local inhabitants visiting museums and historical sites. However, the authorities should take steps to mitigate such issues.