Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Nowadays, it is often seen that museums and historical places attract more outer visitors, not domestic people. Therefore, in this essay, I will elaborate on some main reasons as well as feasible solutions that should be considered in order to increase the flow of local people.

There are several causes that shed light on why domestic people are not interested in museums and ancient sites as tourists are. First of all, because of being born and raised here, citizens had an opportunity to visit these places at least once, therefore they neither want to spend money nor time on paying a visit there again. In addition, humans mostly are impressed by the novelty as well as curious about what they haven’t seen before. For instance, plenty of Asians desire to gaze at landmarks or castles in Europe. On the other hand, travelers from Europe fall in love with natural scenes and artwork in their eastern continent.

Nevertheless, there are various proper schemes to encourage local citizens. First and foremost, the government can organize public events or exhibitions with unique and creative concepts in some special commemorations in order to appeal to the locals. Another effective method is taking advantage of mass media to market museums and historical places such as social networks, television, etc., to create an impression in the residents’ eyes, thence the percentage of local inhabitants can be improved.

In conclusion, although heritage sites do not engage the residents to come there more often due to some factors, there are some workable approaches that can be implemented in order to spur them to drop in these places.