Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In recent days, numerous local museums and historical sites attract more visitors who are foreign and nonnative. This problem could be explained by several factors, and different courses of action should be applied to address the situation.

On top of that, there are two primary reasons why local citizens' apathy toward their museums and heritage. The first cause is because the young generation prefers modern entertainment rather than go sightseeing at the museums or historical sites, owing to there are fascinating activities to do at up-to-date entertaining destinations. Furthermore, children have superficial knowledge about local history, thus, they will not interested in those local museums and historical sites. One clear example is in Vietnam the number of young people visits museums or historical sites is significantly small compared to the influx of people who go to malls or theme parks. The other cause is government do not pay much attention to local monument due to they bring back low profit for the country. In other words, repairing old heritages or building new museums cost a huge budget but the revenue cannot cover the payment. For instance, there are a lot of fields such as agriculture or technology that do not have museums since the official state decline to allocate money to build them.

Some measures should be taken to alleviate the problem. One step is that schools should concern more about the local history program that they are teaching. Additionally, they can encourage children and teenagers to frequently go to museums and historical sites. Namely, several school trips to visit local monuments should be held frequently in the interest of helping the young generation learn more about local historical sites. Another step is that government should divert more bucks to building new museums and upgrading old ones. To illustrate, policymakers can pay for applying modern technology to exhibitions at museums, therefore, museums can attract more guests.

In conclusion, indifference to local museums and historical sites is a big problem and solutions should be implemented to tackle this issue.