Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging
people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?
Many have debating the advantages and disadvantages of charging visitors to admit by museums. While
there is a clearly drawback for it, I personally believe that the benefits are more significant.
To begin with, one of the demerits which can be mentioned for those museums that are not free, would
be fewer visitors. While visiting museums which is a significant part of each culture is becoming less
popular, more persuasive measure should be taken to encourage people for visiting museums. As
economical condition is getting worth, people usually prefer to spend their money on their more
important requirement and prevent extra expenses and alongside that cultural activities have not been
paid enough attention, the majority of population notice visiting museums as an extra one which is not
significant and they would not pay for it. Encouraging people to take part in this activity would not
become practical unless financial schemes such as great discounts or being free from charge are
considered.
On the other hand, charging people for admission has a considerable merit and it is ability of offering
better services to visitors. To give some services: maintenance, extra related-activities and more
powerful safety plans that are really significant for museums, they need to a great deal of budget.
Despite helps by government, many of them need more money for their expenses that are necessary for
great services. So, the more money people pay for visiting a museum, the more qualifies services
museums can offer.
In conclusion the advantages are of greater significance of disadvantages. Although free museums can
be more available to public, the quality of given services would be lessened in those units.