Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Whilst admission fee has to be paid in numerous museums, others allow people to go in freely. As far as I am concerned, although there can be no doubt that this practice can create a negative impression on the thought of visitors to a certain extent, I assert a belief that paying admission fee will do better than harm.

One the one hand, the option to paying entrance fee in museums can exert many negatives in that it can lead to a decrease in visitors. The fact of the matter is that museums opened and operated just facilitate people, especially students to have access to historic values from ancestors such as the evolution of humans being or antiquity,... and they are not naturally commercial activities.Thus, charging for entrance can reduce people’s interest in discovering nationalist heritage. Another disadvantage is that a small group of people on the societal level can take a chance of getting profit by increasing the price of tickets. In other words, they can change the fixed price of the tickets by producing other ones with dear prices, then sell for visitors or foreigners. For example, in many museums, numerous people are fined for fraud in charge.

Despite the above-mentioned disadvantages, I believe that this activity might be associated with many beneficial effects on supporting money to provide more renovation for museums. To be more specific, the money received from charge for admission can become an available source of capital for renovating material facilities instead of calling for the budget allocation of authority or sponsorship of non-governmental organizations. Hence, paying for affordable entrance tickets is an effective shift in creating an income to supply more investment on decoration as well as exhibitions. Moreover, museums charging for admission make efforts to introduce many policies to give students or children a discount when visiting to encourage them. For instance, Hoa Lo - a renowned museum in Ha Noi introduced a entrance charge with many discounts for students, therefore, recently it have attracted thousands of people coming everyday.

To conclude, this trend might possess many disadvantages. However, I am more inclined to the view that charge for admission with a reasonable price and will likely prevail.