Many museums charge for admission while others are free.Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Museums are classy alternatives to mainstream entertainment that are rampant nowadays. They also have the capacity to entice people across all walks of life. However, museum administrators are caught up in a dilemma of either requiring fees or letting patrons pass through without charge. In my standpoint, the benefits of accepting payments encompass the consequences.

It is notable that charging for admissions in museums draw several disadvantages to the visiting crowd. One factor in particular is the limitation to accessibility that fees contribute. Evidently, if exhibitors will charge for the viewing of their artifacts, then needless to say, only a handful of people who have money to spare for such form of entertainment will be able to experience their exhibits. To cite as a example is a heritage site in the depressed area of our locality housing plenty of interesting historical pieces, yet, most people surrounding the gallery have not seen its interiors because they cannot afford to pay their entrance. Additionally, it is logical to assume that the decreased museum visitors also lower the tourist attractability of the city where it is built. Therefore, creating a negative impact to the town people relying on tourism for income. This was true for a city in Northern Philippines which once was a popular destination for a unique display they showcased for free. It draw the rise of shops and food establishments all over the city. However, when they started to require ticket payments, sightseers stopped going there, eventually the venue foreclosed and the economy plummeted.

On the contrary, charging remunerations, despite of the disadvantages still proved to be beneficial in numerous aspects. For one, the fees are added income for the government. Some developing countries have lesser budget for building infrastructures especially for the arts despite of their rich culture. By earning through admission fees, projects like building more museums can be financed. Aside from that, requiring payments to enter the establishment can also help curate the galleries by paying utilities and improving security systems through installation of surveillance cameras and bio-metrics systems or employing more people to take care of the displays. In that way, the encased items will stay safe and clean for more generations to see. Finally, proceeds of museum tickets will enable for more displays in the museum, such that elusive arts may even be afforded. As in the case when the Philippine government was able to buy back a painting made by a national artist that was sold abroad through revenues from an income-generating display of other artists' masterpieces. This becomes beneficial by giving museum goers more reasons to visit because there are additional sights to view.

To cumulate, the arguments for which taking payments as means to enter the museums can definitely empower the reasons for permitting them free of charge because they are profitable, in turn museums can stand on their own or even fund government activities as well as procure more items to display.