The tendency of human being to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

Human beings have a natural instinct to seek social acceptance. Because of this ideology, many people tend to imitate trends that are already proven to be socially acceptable such as in the cases of the latest mobile phones and fashion outfits. I acknowledge to a full extent has this mindset has affected our tendency to imitate others.

To begin with, most in trend fashion styles is believed to boost self-confidence in many ways. For one, many people find fashion ensembles being donned by trendy people as flattering for their bodies that they aim to duplicate their attire in order to look as good as their trend-setters. A case in point is when zaftig models wear dresses that only slender women used to wear can entice full-figured ladies who follow that public figure to also don the clothing. This can then give rise to a new fashion revolution. Another point is how the popularity of apparels encourage a number of consumers to purchase it. To cite, wearing denim tops over denim jeans used to be a fashion peeve, however, sine vogue stars, that is the Kardashians, started modelling them, a lot of people began to thin that the style is acceptable and indeed eye-catching, in a positive sense. Hence, the popularity of the trend nowadays.

Moreover, the proliferation of certain consumer goods in the market has leveled par with the significance of clothing in human tendencies to imitate. That is, the ownership of consumer goods poses a great deal of pride to most people, especially if the owners have seen these items being used by successful people. The capability to purchase gadgets such as cellphones, cameras and laptops is already a financial accomplishment on its own, even more so when they are of highly coveted brands and range. Say for example, smart phones have become a prevailing gadget especially to the working class, not only for its convenient features, but mostly because of the influence of the success and achievements of their brand ambassadors, such as the awe-stricken success story of Steve Jobs of the iPhone. Additionally, it is important to cite that consumers mostly replicate ownership of things they see from other people because on envy. This could probably be from seeing the convenience the users are experiencing, or how they look well-endowed or accomplished with having the items. In that case, the copier might want to also present himself in the same status.

To conclude, it is not wrong to assume that copying other people is a common human tendency. These are evident by the prolific spread of certain types of fashion and gadgets, which are argued to be caused by how they increase self-esteem, or how they are being modeled by popular personalities. Furthermore, ownership of gadgets impose some sense of pride and reduces envious feelings.