In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, many people believe that living alone or in nuclear families is more comfortable than in extended family groups. I also think that living in a small family brings more benefits than staying in a house that has 3 or 4 generations.

On the one hand, living with an extended family has some positive effects. Firstly, we can gain many worthwhile life lessons from living with our grandparents. Throughout their lives, they will be able to share valuable life experiences. During their retirement, your grandparents will have more time to take care of their children’s physical and mental health problems. Whenever you have a stressful time, you can talk to them about what you do every day. By doing these things, you will be protected from depression and mental illness. Moreover, you can learn more about the crucial traditions and customs of your country in the past.

On the other hand, staying in an extended house also has many drawbacks. First of all, when interacting with the elderly like your grandparents, they often have constant judgements or criticisms about your lifestyle, fashion and studies. Even though they believe you will benefit from those judgments, you cannot do what you want. You can follow the latest and modern trends whether you live in a nuclear family or alone. In addition, living in a small family unit has fewer needs at home than living in a large family. The bills for electricity, water or necessary equipment are cheaper.

To sum up, staying in a large house has many benefits. As I mentioned above, the advantages of living in a nuclear family outweigh the disadvantages of living in an extended family.