In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In modern life, humans in urban centers prefer to live alone or in small families rather than in extended families. This problem has been a controversial topic of debate for a long time. I believe this phenomenon has both advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, living alone or in a small family unit definitely offers people plenty of benefits. Firstly, the latest trends provide young generations with the freedom to do as they please. Compared to old people, young people tend to be more active; for example, they have a riskier lifestyle such as burning the midnight oil to work or play which is completely contrast with old people. If they live in extended family groups, constant judgement or criticism is not avoided. Thus, small families are easier to resolve arguments than large families. Not only children can show the feelings they have with their parents, but parents can also take care of their children in their own way.

On the other hand, this trend also has some drawbacks, such as people living alone and dying. Living with grandparents teaches children lots of valuable life lessons. Learning from grandparents is the most effective way to become a better version of yourself, since these older generations have a great deal of experience. With the interaction and influence of grandparents, the younger generations will become more mature and careful when it comes to important events. It is difficult for people living alone to get the care and attention they need, for example, when they are under work pressure or have physical and mental health problems, they cannot share them with others.

In conclusion, whether a young person lives alone or with a small family has both advantages and disadvantages, so young people should think carefully before making a decision.