Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can ba taken to tackle this problem?

In many cases, after they serve their first sanction, a lot of criminals recommit again. This may occur due to a number of reasons; however, fortunately, there are some steps that can be implemented to alleviate this phenomenon.

To begin with, what makes a criminal re-offend after they finish a punishment is that they do not get a sufficient sanction. For instance, many criminals are punished by being sentenced in prisons, and because many of these prisons are luxurious, this cannot be considered as a suitable deter for their crimes. Furthermore, due to the lack of rehabilitation in prisons, most criminals are not able to learn from their faults, which makes them liable to commit the same kinds of crimes again and again.

To solve this dilemma, the government can take a number of measures in order to resolve this issue. First, a sufficient and deterrent sanction could be applied to the offender. To illustrate more, prisons should not be such luxurious, and instead criminals should be put in harsh environments. Furthermore, some criminals should be rehabilitated and taught to be more aware about others' rights. For example, those who drive under the effect of alcohol may be punished by serving in hospitals to be aware of their careless actions.

In conclusion, if criminals do not face suitable and deterring sanctions for their crimes, they can commit more offences. Thus, a robust sanction system, which can be implemented by the government, would be the best way to mitigate, or even eradicate, this phenomenon.