Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

A country's history is embodied in a large number of legally protected historic buildings. Some believe they ought to be demolished and replaced with modern ones. Meanwhile, this essay will outline its important aspects, in my viewpoint, they should stand with the current refurbishment.

First of all, it is obvious that preserving certain old buildings provides historical value of human life in terms of research development. Undoubtedly, their architectural constructions since archaeological evidences of the past may assist scientist to comprehend the core of cultural civilisation time to time. The pyramid of Giza, primarily slow-setting gypsum mortar — made from plaster and sand — inspire current engineers to create structures in drier areas. Furthermore, museums have been validated as the safest place to protect historical objects. Proven by Texas Historical Commission, their areas are set in constant climate creating favourable atmosphere and humidity levels to sustainably maintain perishable artefacts.

Conversely, we should reconcile that modernization of heritage buildings cannot be discouraged as this can achieve civilian harm and disaster mitigations. Considering that, most worldwide ancient building structures have been renovated to be well-designed without reducing its essence, in order to avert collapse as happened to the Old Courthouse, UK. Moreover, this revitalization may foster a wider building purpose both to enhance cultural landmarks preservation and to catch numerous tourists’ attention. The extensive periodic control of Colosseum has shaped better structural maintenance, transforming amphitheatre to a beautiful place for pre-wedding photoshoots.

In summary, it seems to me that maintaining old buildings brings greater significance to a nation, including sources of cultural history and best artefact storage. Meanwhile, the refurbishment of such structures is suggested to prevent building collapse and engage in more functional prospects.