Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is an interesting subject of discussion as to whether old buildings should be preserved by law because of their historical value or should be pulled down to make new houses and offices to accommodate the increasing population. In my viewpoint, I believed that it is extremely important to maintain the heritage for two reasons: reflect our culture and historical importance and the government should not let history stand out of the way of development.

Protecting certain old buildings is important for several reasons. Firstly, it provides an insight look about our ancestry life for a thousand years ago, how they live and survive. The world can know about our ancient history, our story and more. As a result, it is a pride for countries and helps culture attachment. Secondly, its historical value means a lot to their countries. It might remind them how hard they fought for freedom but also remembrance those they lost. So that when students look back to history monument, they sincerely, grateful, understand and live a better life that deserves ancestors' deserts.

However, this certainly does not mean that modernization should be discouraged. I believed that old buildings and modern ones can create a new attraction that may help to improve beauty and important. Several countries preserved heritage places such as Japan, London, Paris and more than thousands of people visited these metropolis cities. Also, it is the existence of those constructions that teach the youth about nations' history. As a result, they improve their acknowledgment that lead to countries' progress. That is the reason why the government should renovate them rather than destroy it.

In conclusion, I strongly believed that we should protect and improve countries' old buildings as we can learn about history and world culture. Such knowledge can also help people to understand how to modernize the countries in the best ways