Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nations’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Over the last few decades, there are a lot of debate about historical buildings around the world.Certain people said that these buildings should be diminished, however, the law that has been implemented in every country protect these buildings from being replaced by the modern buildings. This essay will be discussed about the significant facts on why historical buildings should be protected.

First of all, the old buildings will give the deepest effect in making the folk remember about histories. As George Santayana said, the people that forget the history will tend to repeat itself. This quote means that if people nowadays did not remember on how hard their old fighters fight for the freedom of their country, maybe in the future the country can be fall to the hands of colonizer again. As an example, the house of Mahatma Ghandi, at Gujarat has been protected and upgraded beautifully so that, every time people come and visit that place, they will always keep in their mind about the histories that have been happening in India and will try to protect their country from any element of colonization.

Next, these old building play an important role as a source of the income of the country. Every historical buildings have their own specialty and uniqueness, so that's why it should be protected and upgraded in making it as a place for tourism. Research proves that a part of tourist visit another country because they want to see the ancient structure. The government should take this chance by allowing their folk to open up stalls around the old building by selling foods or handcrafts.

To sum up, I really believe that we should protect the old buildings as it can make the folk remember about the historical events that have been happening in the previous decades. On the other hand, the tourist that visit these historical buildings can contribute in the countries’ income.