Many old cities around the world are going through a major process of modernization. What are the advantages and disadvantages of modernization?

Most of the ancient cities around the globe are passing through a major process of upgradation. There are some positives and negatives of this trend which I will discuss in coming crumb of my writing.

To begin with, there are manifold advantages of modernization. Firstly, when modernization takes place, new facilities are available such as in transportation system, new vehicles are introduce. Also, the existing roads become wide and some new paths are built to make a city crowd free. More rail tracks are developed to make transportation easy. Secondly, sewage system is introduce to make place clean from dirty water . This is very helpful because it collects the unwanted water from the roads and various places and make the place free from foul. In addition, underground transportation system make the life convenient and save our precious time. Therefore, upgradation serves for us in various ways.

On the flip side, there are some disadvantages of this trend. City becomes expensive after this and the cost of materials touch the top so that it becomes difficult for a middle class family to survive in such a costly place. Moreover, although this is a good to some extent, it damages the historical monuments. Sometimes it put scratches on them. For an illustration, in 2009, in France, when upgradation took place, it destroyed the temple which had historical important. In addition, it diminish the traditional way of living and it ends our culture and heritage. People adopt Western things so that our culture and language reach to the end point.

In conclusion, Even though, it has advantages, we do not forget about disadvantages. Modernization should takes place in a limit and during upgradation, we have to think about the historical buildings and do something to preserve them.