In many parts of the world, people rely on private cars for transportation.

In what ways does reliance on private cars affect the way we live?

Do the effects tend to be positive or negative?

Owning a private vehicle has been the most reliable mode of transportation in recent years. The abundance of personal vehicles on the road cause a lot of traffic congestion and have negative impacts on our health and the environment, even though they are very convenient.

The abundance of personal cars on the road cause traffic congestion. In developed cities, one of the difficulties people face is the problem of traffic congestion because many people own their own cars. The excessive number of cars attribute to the traffic congestion city people face. Setting realistic goals of getting to places on time is impossible. This leads to a lot of stress and frustration thereby shortening the lifespan of people in the city.

Cars also release toxic gases such as carbon monoxide and nitrous oxides which react with the oxygen in the atmosphere to cause harmful effects on our health such as respiratory problems, cancer, even stroke. These harmful gases also trap more heat from the sun and make the earth too warm, thereby prevent the survival of plants and animals. Therefore, the more cars on the road, the more harmful gases are released.

One of the major benefits of privately owned vehicles is the convenience they offer. A person can choose to go anywhere at any time of the day even when the public transportation companies have closed. Someone could also choose a preferred job irrespective of the proximity to train or bus stations. You can live anywhere you want, no matter the distance when you have your own vehicle.

In conclusion, even though personal cars offer convenience, there are also a lot of drawbacks in owning one. The negative consequences on our health and environment outweigh the benefit of convenience.