In many parts of the world, people rely on private cars for transportation.

In what ways does reliance on private cars affect the way we live?

Do the effects tend to be positive or negative?

Nowadays, individuals depend on their private cars to transport in lieu of using public transportation or other vehicles. There are various effects surrounding this issue, especially environmental problems. In my opinion, those effects have a propensity to be more negative.

On the one hand, there are numerous effects which affect directly to people’s life. To be more precise, individuals tend to have a sedentary life and rely on private cars, instead, they try to figure out other solutions to tackle their problems. Because private transportation brings them more convenient than public one so using personal cars is better to feel more private than the others. Besides that, it is more likely to commute for anyone since their time is not wasted. This means that they can have more spare time to spend on another activity instead of being worried about their vehicles. By using personal cars, more roomy spaces are created surrounding people’s lives. Taking America as an example, according to Harvard University’s survey, more than 75% people in their country find it easy to use their personal car instead of public transportation. Those who use this kind of transportation do not feel time-consuming every morning when they have to be on time at their workplace.

On the other hand, the effects which using private cars causes are not less than people think. Private transportation releases more exhausted fumes than public transportation such as buses or subway. This leads to a big impact on human’s environment because it can increase the quantity of CO2 air in the atmosphere. Therefore, individuals have to face a series of environmental challenges which fumes from private cars cause. People are destroying nature and the living environment day by day. Moreover, the number of traffic congestion is growing because most roads are covered by many and many cars. This also leads to the ruin of infrastructure promptly, especially in underdeveloped and developing countries because of the bad one.

In conclusion, there are a plethora of adverse causes of this pitfall which must be considered instead of only concentrating on any benefits which using private cars brings to us. I personally ponder that the negative effects in this problem outweigh the positive one.