Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of their fear of crime. Some people believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crime, but others feel that little can be done. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether more measures should be introduced to prevent crime. While there are some reasons for little actions can be done, I believe that it is necessary to take more actions to prevent crime and make community safer.

First and foremost, although there have already existed various regulations for punishing people who commit crimes, there should be more emphasis laid on mental health which is a key factor for crime prevention, as many criminals are suffered from the diversity of mental health problems. To be more specific, criminals with mental health problems are hard to find reasonable ways to release their pressure or anxiety without accurate instructions, then they are likely to conduct anti-social offenses and embark on the criminal road. In addition, more knowledge about the mental health should be imparted among teenagers especially those in countryside where education resources are relatively poor. This action can not only be as a prevention for crime, but also it helps develop teenagers’ healthy personalities which are beneficial for paving their ways for future career development.

Furthermore, given the rapid advancements in technology and the internet nowadays, more high-tech methods can be applied to people’s daily life, enhancing citizen’s awareness of crime. Take the case of online fraud, which is a typical crime issue and police found it hard to deal with it in the past few years. To tackle this problem, an app called ‘anti-fraud’ was invented in China and each citizen is compulsory to download it, thorough which, some fake number can be detected, and people’s awareness of crime have also been cultivated.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that much more money will be invested to the prevention of crime, which are supposed to go to other investment areas, such as, technological innovation. Ironically, when the safety of community is ensured, more citizens are willing to leave their homes to work, which could further give a boost to the economic growth of city in the long run. Therefore, taking more measures to crime prevention is also rewarded from the aspect of finance.

In conclusion, though crime prevention is costly to some extent, the advantages of it still outweigh such investment. Hence, I strongly believe that more actions should be taken for preventing crime.