Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of their fear of crime. Some people believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crime, but others feel that little can be done. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The increasing number of crimes in public places has been becoming a prevalent cause of concern for citizens around the world. To eradicate crime, some people opine that it is a must to apply more effective measures, while others insist it is almost impossible to achieve that goal. Personally, although eliminating offences is entirely infeasible, alleviating the crime wave can be achieved with the assistance of more efforts.

More measures to address crime will promote the safety of citizens if they can approach and ameliorate existing situations that lead to crime. One of the situations is that there are not sufficient police officers patrolling at nighttime, when offences, such as rape and violent attack, normally occur. It is practical to prevent most of those crimes with either the introduction of a more widespread surveillance system or an increase in the number of police officers. Another factor that exacerbates the crime wave is the lack of self-protection awareness, with which potential victims can dramatically reduce the risk of being offended by realizing and staying away from the potential danger. Consequently, governments should attach more importance to the promotion of this kind of awareness. However, those efforts can only reduce the crime rate, and it is almost impossible to eradicate crime because they simply focus on how to increase the difficulty of criminal behaviour rather than solve the cause of crime.

Given the fact that it is the high unemployment rate and lack of resources that lead to crime, there is no practical method that can wipe out those factors and eliminate crime. Unemployed people are more likely to be indigent and starved, and they can, in most cases, do nothing but to commit a crime to alleviate those predicaments because they lack regular income. Unfortunately, there is no direct approach to overcome the limitation, including limited resources and scientific technology, rendering the positions fewer than people need. Also, it is impossible to meet the demand for everyone with limited resources, and the resulting gap between the rich and the poor might continue to induce the latter to commit a crime for better lives.

On balance, it is admitted that little can be done to prevent crime for those insurmountable causes of crime, but more effective ways are worth the effort for a lower crime rate and better safety in public areas.