Many people are afraid of leaving house because of crime. Some think more action should be taken to prevent crime, but others think little can be done. What is your view?

It is true that home in modern society has become a place of safety that protects people against various kinds of crimes such as street robbery and car theft. While some people believe that there is nothing the community could improve to tackle this issue, I would agree with those who are of the opinion that it is the obligation of the government to uphold order and stability to mitigate the occurrence of crimes.

In terms of regulations, the full weight of the law should be imposed for all serious offences in order to deter crimes. For example, prolonging the term of imprisonment and lowering the minimum crime age on punishment could act as effective ways to preclude crimes, especially to prevent young criminals from escaping punishment. The living environment for residents would, therefore, be improved thanks to those policies that deter potential crimes.

In terms of education, boosting the popularity of primary and secondary levels of studying programs is considered as an urgent task. As a sad truth, people who live in slums with minimum education would more probably commit crimes than those with decent education and a comparatively higher social status. Hence, by encouraging more people to continue their education path to enhance their awareness of social ethics and morality that is highlighted in several subjects at schools, the living condition and public security would be strengthened. Additionally, in the long term, this improvement would be the foundation of a civilized society where the possibility of crime occurrence is diminished to a certain extent.

In conclusion, I believe that the crime rate will be reduced if government focuses on developing education and reinforcing laws, thereby people’s standard of living will become better.